ACM SIGWEB to Sponsor and Organize Leading International Web Conference Series

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, and the International World Wide Web Conference Committee (IW3C2) has announced an agreement to transfer full legal and financial sponsorship of The Web Conference series of conferences

The term of the current Editor-in-Chief (EiC) of the ACM Transactions on Information Systems (TOIS) is coming to an end, and the ACM Publications Board has set up a nominating committee to assist the Board in selecting the next EiC. TOIS was established in 2000 and has been experiencing steady growth, with around 150 submissions received annually over the last six years. The acceptance rate has stayed in the 20-25% rate.

Nominations are invited for a three-year term as TOIS EiC, beginning on August 1, 2020. The EiC appointment may be renewed at most one time. This is an entirely voluntary position, but ACM will provide appropriate administrative support.  Self-nominations are encouraged, and should include a statement of the candidate's vision for the future development of TOIS. Other nominations should include a vita along with a brief statement of why the nominee should be considered; the committee will reach out to the nominated candidate to seek permission to proceed and to request a vision for the future development of TOIS. The deadline for submitting nominations is June 1, 2020, although nominations will continue to be accepted until the position is filled.

Appointed by the ACM Publications Board, Editors-in-Chief (EiCs) of ACM journals are delegated full responsibility for the editorial management of the journal consistent with the journal's charter and general ACM policies. The Board relies on EiCs to ensure that the content of the journal is of high quality and that the editorial review process is both timely and fair. He or she has the final say on acceptance of papers, size of the Editorial Board, and appointment of Associate Editors. A complete list of responsibilities is found in the ACM Volunteer Editors Position Descriptions. Additional information can be found in the following documents:

Please send all nominations to the nominating committee chair, James Allan (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.). The search committee members are:

  • James Allan (University of Massachusetts Amherst), Chair
  • Hannah Bast (University of Freiburg)
  • Pablo Castells (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid)
  • Diane Kelly (University of Tennessee)
  • Tetsuya Sakai (Waseda University)
  • Mark Sanderson (RMIT University)
  • Divesh Srivastava (AT&T Labs-Research), ACM Publications Board Liaison

The latest Summer 2020 issue of the SIGWEB Newsletter is available on ACM Digital Library. Our new quarterly newsletter publication aims to communicate with our members news, interviews and events that are of interest to people in the field of Hypertext and Hypermedia. An archive of past issues of the newsletter, in digital form, is available through the ACM Digital Library.

A characteristic that makes SIGWEB special and differentiates it from other ACM SIGs is that it has created a dynamic atmosphere where scientists, systems designers, end-users, writers, and people from the humanities all feel welcome and can come together to discuss hypertext and the Web in all its forms. An underlying source of this "buzz" that surrounds any SIGWEB meeting (in both the physical and virtual worlds) is that there has always been a willingness of SIGWEB members to volunteer and foster a community spirit.

Grants of up to $2,000 USD are available to support small research events related to a research community supported by SIGWEB.
These awards are at the discretion of the SIGWEB Executive committee and may be applied for at any time by completing the below form.